Croatian Euphonic Brass

£13.00 - £5.95
Reference:  CDBM16
Stock:  In stock In stock


    1. Euphonium Concerto (V.Lisjak) 1st movement   6.45
    2. Euphonium Concerto (V.Lisjak) 2nd movement   8.52
    3. Euphonium Concerto (V.Lisjak) 3rd movement   5.30
    4. Pavane (G.Faure) arranged for euphonium and harp   7.48
    5. Marches (Paisible/Tollet/H.Purcell)   6.39
    6. Thou Knowest Lord, the Secrets of our Hearts (H.Purcell)   1.59
    7. Canzona (H.Purcell)   2.13
    8. Praise The Lord, O Jerusalem (H.Purcell)   6.55
    9. Sonata Pian' e Forte (G.Gabrieli)   4.15
    10. Madonna Mia, Pieta (O.De Lassus)   1.37
    11. Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte (M.Ravel)   6.26                                   

Total CD 58.59

Steve writes: "Croatian Euphonic Brass has been a really excellent project with the musicians of the Croatian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra. It is not a disc full of 'fireworks' ! I have a few of these already and will probably do more in the future! This is a recording that has sounds and moments that I've been dreaming about since we discussed the possibilities with this repertoire. We planned for three years and now I'm so happy with the results. The ensemble consists of four trumpets, four French horns, three trombones, tuba and three percussion. The main work on the CD is the brand new Euphonium Concerto by Vanja Lisjak, who also arranged all the other tracks on the recording.. This is a marvellous work full of emotion, human spirit and at times, great depth. I hope this becomes a work that everyone will want to play." 

Vanja Lisjak writes: ""The musicians playing on this CD are the finest brass and percussion artists in Croatia, educated in Croatia, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Slovenia and the United States. Since 1990, almost all of us are members of the Croatian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, where we unfortunately have a rare chance of playing as a chamber group, as our orchestral schedule doesn't allow enough time. A concert with Steven Mead gave us a chance to show our great love for this type of music, and to unite the experience we were gaining as members of different chamber ensembles present in our country. I am very grateful for the great effort and professionalism invested in the realisation of this CD"

You can watch a 6 minute presentation with extracts from each work YouTube, by following this link:

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.