Textures - Michael Forbes - Symphony for 6 Euphoniums and 6 Tubas

£49.95 - £45.00
Reference:  SMEBT
Stock:  In stock In stock

Textures is a symphony in three movements that explores differing levels of thickness in scoring and harmonic timbre.

The first movement,Transparent, explores pentatonic harmonies, with intense multi-meter hocket and even a fugal structure. Rhythmic motives that permeate the entire work are introduced here.  Translucent, slow and meditative, has a cloudy texture with its diatonic and modal character. The last movement, Opaque, opens with a recapitulation of the previous harmonic textures before exploring its more busy rhythmic, chromatic texture. The movement also recalls the various themes from previous movements before driving home its own theme followed by a rhythmic, bombastic finale.

The three movements:

1. Transparent (5')

2. Translucent (8')

3. Opaque (5')

Published by Editions BimMichael Forbes (born 1973 in Morgantown, West Virginia, USA), studied first with Mark Lusk and Marty Erickson (Bachelor’s Degree at Penn State University), then with tubist and composer, John Stevens (Master degree from the University of Wisconsin) and finally with world renowned tubist, Toby Hanks (Doctor’s Degree from the University of Maryland)
Duration 18 minutesDifficulty level: 4.5/6Supplied with full score, 12 parts all in BC

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.