Euphonium Magic Vol. 2 - Music of Life

£12.50 - £5.95
Reference:  CDBM03
Stock:  In stock In stock


  1. What’s This? Elfman/Robertson
  2. Finale of 5th Symphony Beethoven/Bale
  3. Waltz Op.64 no.2 F.Chopin/ Bale
  4. Processional to the Minster Wagner/Ito
  5. Euphoniums Parfait (Suite for 4 Euphoniums) Yasuhide Ito
    - Fruits Parfait
    - Milonga di Malone
    - Cioccolata d’amore
    - Gelato con Café
  6. Ase’s Death (from Peer Gynt Op.23) Grieg/Harris
  7. When You Wish Upon a Star Harline/Robertson
  8. Take Five Desmond/Luis
  9. Shenandoah Trad./Olcott
  10. The Simpsons Elfman/Harris
  11. Come Sunday Ellington/Paul
  12. A la Romanesc Thomas Dos
  13. And Soon It Will Be Blossom Time Andresen
  14. Entrance and Polka of the Euphonium Players Fucik/Carrol/Maldonado
  15. Rosamunde Vejvoda/Zelch

Additional Info

Due to the overwhelming success of the original Euphonium Magic CD, Steve Mead conjured up a follow-up album that again has lovers of brass music entranced by the sound of his multi-tracked euphonium.

Many have asked for the secret ingredients to this tasty yet sonorous musical recipe. Well, it’s very simple; find some great arrangements, an engineer with supreme skill and patience and a player who can play all day for a week with an imagination and no little skill. The striving for perfection is the hallmark of any great artist and to make music breathe, stretch and play in rhythmic perfection with one’s self is indeed a challenge. But the thrill of hearing multi-part music with virtually identical articulation, great tuning and tone colour is shared equally between the creator and his audience.

In Vol.2 the theme is Music of Life; music drawn from across historic and stylistic barriers that reflect in turn heroic, turbulent, sad and reflective moods, capturing the effervescence of youth and simple folkloristic pleasures. This album takes us immediately from the question posed by Danny Elfman in ‘What’s This?’ to the finale of one the greatest ever symphonic works, Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony in an abridged arrangement from star arranger Maurice Bale, with a band of 16 Mead’s (the biggest score on this disc). Several quartets are featured, amongst them two originals, the suite ‘Euphoniums Parfait’ from the Japanese composer/pianist Yasuhide Ito and the charming ‘And Soon It Will be Blossom Time’ by Danish composer/trombonist Morgens Andresen.

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.