Steven Mead Euphonium Song Book Vol.2 - Arr.Luc Vertommen

Reference:  SMESB2
Stock:  In stock In stock

Here is the brand new Euphonium Song Book Vol.2, a successor to the highly Vol.1 released 18 months before.

Here we have another superb collection of  beautiful melodies; some simple and folk inspired, some instrumental solos, some operative arias and within this collection are some incredible little-known gems !

It's with great pleasure that I introduce the second volume of the Euphonium Song Book.

I'm very grateful to my good friend Luc Vertommenfor for discovering so many fine works to be included in this book. He and I share the same passion for beautiful lyrical music. However, a quick look through this volume will also reveal some music of a very technical nature, and I think this is going to be a real challenge for many musicians, although of course at the heart of all technical playing should be a constant lyricism, and therein lies the challenge. As I suggested with the first book, I would urge all of you to seek out fantastic performances and recordings of the original setting of these pieces, as composers can never write down all the nuance that is now associated with these magnificent pieces. The challenge as always is to go beyond the notes, the black and white dots you see on the page. To really be successful with these you not only need some working knowledge of the original, but really try to find a true vocal quality to your performance. Not enough brass players sing, either in their head to learn the music, or out loud, to fully realise the musical thoughts they have. I was very lucky as a boy to have singing lessons for seven years, and this has never left me. You won't hear me singing in public, don't worry, but I 'sing' with my instrument every day.

Please enjoy these beautiful works, by some of the greatest composers who ever lived, and the mix of these works with some folk inspired compositions. Good luck and enjoy the music making.

The set includes the piano accompaniments to all pieces, and solo parts : TC (Bb), BC (in Bb), BC (in C)

Solos contained in this volume:

1. Andante Religioso – Georg Goltermann

2. Because – Guy d’Hardelot Page

3. Berceuse – Armas Järnefelt

4. Canzone – Max Bruch

5. Elégie – Henri Vieuxtemps

6. Elégie – Jules Massenet Page

7. Eriskay Love Lilt – Irish traditional  

8. Hungarian Rondo – Fritz Kreisler

9. Ich liebe dich – Edvard Grieg

10. La Capricieuse – Edward Elgar

11. Mattinata – Ruggero Leoncavallo

12. Oh my beloved father (O mio babbino caro)- Giacomo Puccini

13. Sérénade – Gabriel Pierné

14. Serenade – Franz Schubert

15. Four Robert Burns Songs – scottish traditional  

16. Oberon (Von Jugend auf in dem Kampf gefild) – Carl Maria von Weber

17. Salve Maria – Saverio Mercadente

18. Sicilienne – Maria Theresia von Paradis

19. The Flower Song (La Fleure que tu n’avias jetée) – Georges Bizet

20. Weep no more – Roger Quilter

21. Three Stephen Foster Songs – Stephen Collins Foster

22. Tuscan Serenade – Gabriel Fauré Page

23. Valse Bluette – Richard Drigo

24. Ved Rondane – Edvard Grieg

25. The Little Admiral – Charles Stanford

Please understand, we have had to add an additional shipping charge for this album and solo parts,

as it weighs just over 1 kilo !!

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.