'Euphonium' - CD - John Storey

Reference:  CDJS01
Stock:  In stock In stock

This is John Storey's excellent debut solo CD release, with brass band, woodwind octet and string quintet accompaniment.

John is Principal Euphonium of the Coldstream Guards in London.

After becoming a member of his first band at the age of eight, he joined the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain at 16 before reaching the brass final of BBC Young musician of the year in 1996.   John went on to study music at the University of Huddersfield under the guidance of the late Geoffrey Whitham. During this time he also joined the James Shepherd Versatile Brass.   After graduating, John joined the Band of the Coldstream Guards as Principal Euphonium. Throughout his time in the band John has been privileged to play at many state occasions such as Trooping of the Colour and the Festival of Remembrance. He has also performed at many prestigious Royal occasions.   As well as travelling around the world with the band, John has represented the army internationally as a guest soloist. In 2000 he was invited to Kingston, Jamaica by the country’s Defence Force Band as visiting soloist for the Capital’s Easter Celebrations. In 2004 he flew back across the Atlantic to perform at the US Army Band’s Tuba and Euphonium conference.   John cites one of his career highlights as performing the Flower Song from Bizet’s Carmen for Her Majesty the Queen at an intimate concert in Windsor Castle, a performance that was later mentioned in dispatches. A second great moment was being part of the fanfare team opening the Live 8 concert in Hyde Park, London.   Outside the band, John continues to be involved in the brass band world, most recently playing with Seindorf Beaumaris band in the 2011 and 2012 Welsh area contests.   During the past year John has embarked on a number of recording projects. In addition to putting together his first solo CD he recently recorded with the Progressive Rock band ‘Big Big Train’. - See more at: http://www.besson.com/en/artistes/artiste/john-storey#sthash.1cAjNOt1.dpuf


1. O Waly Waly - Arr. Stephen Roberts

2. Flower Song from Carmen - Bizet Arr. Wilson

3. Concerto for Euphonium and Woodwind Octet - Mozart Arr. Scott

4. Variations on Rule Britannia - John Hartmann

5. Peace - John Golland

6. Concertino for Euphonium - Rolf Wilhelm

7. Euphoria - Rodney Newton

8. Concertino for Euphonium and String Quintet - Steven Rockey

9. 'Neath Dublin Skies - Paul Lovatt Cooper

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.