CD - Fandango - Steven Mead with Tomoko Sawano (piano) - special sale

£13.00 - £5.00
Reference:  CDMB17
Stock:  In stock In stock

Repertoire :

1 Gypsy Airs (Zigeunerweisen) - Pablo Sarasate Arr. Snell 6.52
2 Three Expeditions - Ethan Wickman
i. Strange Departures 3.47 ii. Moriah 5.42 iii. Olympus 2.54
3 Toccata - Yoshio Nakahashi 2.56
4 Fandango - Antonio Soler Arr.Takehiko Yamada 8.27
5 Concertino for Euphonium and Piano - Marco Pütz 9.49
6 The Girl With The Flaxen Hair - Claude Debussy Arr. Snell 2.47
7 Party Piece - Philip Sparke 7.23
8 Yorkshire Ballad - James Barnes 4.20
9 Variations on Auld Lang Syne - Simone Mantia 6.52
10 Oblivion - Astor Piazzolla Arr. Anderson 4.19
11 The Dance of The Goblins - Antonio Bazzini Arr. Pierce 4.44

Total CD: 70.32

This latest release from Steven Mead, 'Fandango' is a recording that demonstrates the spirit and vitality of the euphonium. The popularity of this wonderful instrument is continuing to grow worldwide. Steven Mead is perhaps the best known euphonium soloist in the world today and he enjoys an international reputation as an outstanding soloist and an innovative and inspirational teacher. On this disc we hear some brand new music for the instrument in addition to a couple of well loved classics.

The accompanist in the brilliant Japanese pianist, Tomoko Sawano who has played on some of my recent discs with piano, including the award winning ‘Audacious' double CD.

Please watch this short YouTube demo/video which gives you a better idea of the album.


Part of the review by Alan Jenkins (Brass Band World magazine June 2011)

This is a wonderful programme of music for euphonium and piano worthy of any concert stage in the world. It is so easy to throw together a collection of contrasting pieces and call it a programme. To do the job properly requires substantial thought and perhaps a prayer to the Almighty for the gift of a little inspiration to get the balance of music and style right. This programme suggests the inspiration was forthcoming for it truly hits the bull's-eye.

More than that, the 70 minute programme reveals the true art of music where two or more musicians, listen, feel and perform as one. The technical prowess and musical sensitivity displayed in such rich abundance by both performers leaves nothing to be desired.

The programme is a satisfying mixture of original music for the euphonium and arrangements from the classical masters. The original music ranges from the instrument's early days with Simone Mantia's Variations on Auld Lang Syne to challenging music of the 21st Century. There are popular showpieces - the CD opens with Sarasate's Gypsy Airs, arranged by Howard Snell, which always signals a good beginning for any disc - mingling with serious works such as the Concertino for Euphonium and Piano by Marco Pütz, with the enlightened, eclectic programme posing so many different challenges and all met with innate skill and musical authority by the enterprising duo.
The recording quality is of a high standard throughout....."

Fandango is CD of the Month, BBW June 2011 

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.