CD - Pulse - Steven Mead and the Royal Band of the Belgian Air Force - special sale £2

£12.50 - £2.00
Reference:  CDBOCC128
Stock:  In stock In stock

The amazing new CD from Steven Mead and the Royal Band of the Belgian Air Force. Released May 2019.

An introduction by Steven Mead:


After the success of my two albums with the Central Band of the RAF in the UK, I’ve dreamed of recording a further album with a top military band in Europe, and following a chance meeting with conductor Matty Cilissen at the WMC in Kerkrade in 2017,  I proposed to him a CD recording with the Royal Band of the Belgian Air Force.  I was thrilled that he and the band accepted the idea and they have been absolutely wonderful to work with.

 As we know Belgium is home to some of the finest wind players in the whole of Europe, and this outstanding band sounds quite brilliant on this album.

 My recordings over the years have been driven by the desire to record excellent music for the euphonium, and on this album I’ve brought together a few established classics from the pen of the doyen of euphonium composers, Philip Sparke, sitting side-by-side with five new works for our repertoire by the Austrian composer Thomas Doss, the Belgian composer Kevin Houben and from Spain, Carlos Pellicer and proud Welshman Tom Davoren.  Completing the line-up is a virtuoso encore from trumpet legend Rafael Méndez.

 I want to say a special thank you to recording engineer and producer Richard Scott for his marvellous work once again.

 This is the first album that I have recorded with my new euphonium, the gold lacquered Besson Prestige 2052.

Once again with pride I dedicate this CD to my parents, Rex and Sylvia Mead.



The Royal Band of the Belgian Air Force

Musique de la Force Aérienne

Conductor : Matty Cilissen

  1. Pulse – Thomas Doss                                                                6.35
  2. Reverie – Thomas Doss                                                            8.06
  3. Legend of a Big Friendly Giant – Kevin Houben                     10.07
  4. Summer Isles from Hymn of the Highlands - Philip Sparke        4.56
  5. Pantomime – Philip Sparke                                                      8.45
  6. Omaira – Carlos Pellicer                                                           11.35
  7. Scaramouche – Philip Sparke                                                    6.55
  8. Rituals – Tom Davoren                                                              8.13
  9. Jota Méndez – Rafael Méndez                                                  4.40

 Total 69.30

Recorded in Salle Perwex, Perwez, Belgium  21-23 January 2019

Producer: Richard Scott - RAS Audio  Engineer: Phil Hardman  Produced in the UK by Bocchino Music BOCC128

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.