Arcades and Alleys (Sonata for Euphonium) - Alan Lourens - Euphonium and Piano

Reference:  SMCMPAAA
Stock:  In stock In stock

The Sonata for Euphonium is a traditional three movement sonata following classical forms. Movement one is lively Sonata Form, Movement Two is a quiet Ternary Form, and a very lively Rondo rounds out the composition.

This is is post-modern; it is Each movement opens strong in the stated key (G Major, f minor) though in each case the tonality wanders considerably before finishing in the home key. The work is descriptive in nature, but not programmatic.

Arcades and Alleyways explores the whole range of the instrument, from a Pedal B Flat to a C three octaves above that note, and requires professional level technical ability.

Is a really interesting work, essentially a Sonata for Euphonium.

Lourens was born in Perth, Western Australia, and attended Scarborough Senior High School, where he won the prize for music in his graduating year. After completing a degree in Music Education at the Western Australian College of Advanced Education, Lourens taught brass and classroom music in public schools, based at Kelmscott Senior High School, and including conducting and teaching brass at Churchlands Senior High School and Perth Modern School. He returned to study at Indiana University, earning a master's degree in music (in Euphonium Performance) in 1992, and a Doctorate (in Wind Conducting) in 1999, working as an Associate Instructor to Harvey Phillips and in the IU department of bands, working with the Marching Hundred. At Indiana, he studied Euphonium with M.Dee Stewart and Daniel Perantoni. He was also awarded a Performers Certificate for the quality of his Masters recital.

From 2000, Lourens has held leadership positions at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (as Head of Classical Music), and has held positions in Singapore(at Lasalle College of the Arts),[1] and in Dubai.[2] His name was also associated with a possible appointment as Head of the ANU School of Music.[3][4] In 2009, he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA).

Listen to the world premiere by Fletcher Mitchell: Finland, July at the opening concert of the Lieksa Brass Week. World premiere performance of Australian composer Dr Alan Lourens's Euphonium Sonata 'Arcades and Alleys'.

Duration 13.38

Diffiulty level: 4.5/6

Supplied with: solo parts in TC, BC and piano part 

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.