Arpeggione Sonata - Franz Schubert Arr. David R. Werden - Euphonium and Piano

Reference:  SMCMPAR
Stock:  In stock In stock

Composer: Schubert, Franz Arranger: Werden, David

Instrumentation: Solo and Piano Instruments: Euphonium, Piano 

Originally written for an instrument called the Arpeggione (like a fretted cello), Schubert's beautiful Sonata works very well for wind instruments. This arrangement is written by the performer, David Werden, for euphonium and piano. The performance is from a live recital tour of Japan in 1989. A graduate of The University of Iowa, Mr. Werden was the euphonium soloist with The United States Coast Guard Band for more than 20 years. He has performed throughout the United States, as well as in Canada, England, Japan, and the former Soviet Union. Through FM and TV broadcasts, his solos have been heard in dozens of countries around the world. He is a recitalist and clinician, and has performed at local, national, and international symposiums. He was a member of The USCG Band Euphonium/Tuba Quartet, the Atlantic Tuba Quartet, and the Classic Brass Band. He previously taught at the University of Connecticut and is listed in Marquis' Who's Who in American Education. His efforts to expand the role and recognition of the euphonium led the British magazine Sounding Brass in conjunction with the American publication Euphonia to name him "Euphonium Player of the Year" in 1980. He is the first American awarded this honor. In 1981 he was elected to the post of Euphonium Coordinator for the International Tuba-Euphonium Association (formerly called Tubists Universal Brotherhood Association: T.U.B.A). In 1987 he was appointed to the Honory Board of Advisors of ITEA. His many solo performances and his efforts to expand the role of the euphonium in music earned him the prestigious Coast Guard Commendation Medal. He has also been awarded two Coast Guard Achievement Medals, the Coast Guard Special Operations ribbon, two Coast Guard Unit Commendations, and three Coast Guard Merit Somnataorious Unit Commendations. In 1993 he was inducted into the Pi Kappa Lambda honors society. He has published articles in Euphonia magazine, The Instrumentalist magazine and the T.U.B.A. Journal. He is the author of The Blaikley Compensating System, Scoring for Euphonium, co-author with Denis Winter of the Euphonium Music Guide, and a co-author of the Brass Player's Cookbook. He compiled and edited a series of papers by Arthur Lehman into the book The Brass Musician. He has also published over four dozen arrangements for a variety of solo instruments and ensembles. His website,, has become a favorite of euphonium players everywhere. Since moving to Minnesota he has performed with Symphonia (America's Premier Large Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble), the Minnesota Orchestra, the Sheldon Theater Brass Band, was a special guest artist at the International Euphonium Institute, and has been heard on live national broadcasts of A Prairie Home Companion.


Duration 9.15

Difficulty 4.5/6

Supplied with  solo parts in TC and BC and piano part

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.