Nocturne and Dance - Meryn Burtch - Euphonium and Piano

£14.95 - £14.75
Reference:  SMLEA09
Stock:  In stock In stock

Nocturne and Dance was commissioned by David Childs and was written in November and December 2012, receiving its first performance by David Childs and Christopher Williams on 13th October 2013 during a recital at Cardiff University's Concert Hall forming part of the Arcomis International Brass Event.

The Nocturne (A Dream) opens with a slow, quiet, and rather menacing slow march on the piano, while the euphonium has a quieter and less aggressive role. Tension rises as the music for both instruments becomes more agitated, faster, and louder. Whatever the dream is, it is increasingly disturbing until the sleeper wakes and the tension subsides. The opening music now returns, but the menace is held in check: the nocturne fades away.

The Dance, by contrast, is a much more extrovert movement with each instrument playing off rhythmically against the other in a texture that becomes more and more complex, leading eventually to a final flourish bringing reconciliation between the two instruments.

This publication comes complete with composer biography and performance tips from David Childs

Duration : 8.30

Difficulty level: 5.5/6

Supplied with piano part and solo parts in TC and BC

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.