Andante Cantabile - Tchaikovsky/arr. Luc Vertommen - Euphonium and Brass Band

£44.00 - £41.95
Reference:  SMBBBP08
Stock:  In stock In stock

The Euphonium Virtuoso Collection is a new series of euphonium solos arranged by Luc Vertommen especially for Steven Mead and offers exciting study and performance opportunities for every aspiring soloist.

Top quality arrangements available in different versions for soloist and brass band, symphonic wind band or piano accompaniment.

Tchaikovsky's ‘Andante Cantabile' is one of the most famous and inspiring romantic movements. Is was either the singing of a workman or baker - there are two versions of the story - that introduced Tchaikovsky to the folk melody that he immortalized in his slow movement of his String Quartet nr 1, opus 11, composed in 1871. Clearly he was not put off by the tune's unromantic words, ‘Vanya sat on the divan and smoked a pipe of tobacco'. An immediate hit, the movement was quickly extracted from the quartet and published in numerous arrangements through which it became one of Tchaikovsky's most famous short works. It didn't only inspire Johan De Meij for a fantastic and extreme make-over (see recent brass band test-piece!) , Tchaikovsky himself made an arrangement for cello and string orchestra sometime between 1886 and 1888 for cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen (1848-1890) who premiered the Rococo Variations in 1877.

difficulty rating: 3 (1-6)
solo parts included: BC, TC, BC Bb

All Brass, Wind & Fanfare Band arrangements in the Euphonium Virtuoso series are shipped directly from the publisher.

We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.