Grand Air de Zaïr (FB) - Saverio Mercadente/arr. Vertommen

£86.00 - £81.95
Reference:  SMFBBP10
Stock:  In stock In stock

The Euphonium Virtuoso Collection is a new series of euphonium solos arranged by Luc Vertommen especially for Steven Mead and offers exciting study and performance opportunities for every aspiring soloist.

Top quality arrangements available in different versions for soloist and brass band, symphonic wind band or piano accompaniment.

Grand Air de Zaïr is an eight minute recitative and aria from Saverio Mercadente's opera ‘Zaïra'. In the 18th century when Italian opera dominated Europe we find the 30 year old Mercadente leaving Italy in 1826 to try his fortunes in Spain and Portugal. He composed seven operas there before returning to Italy in 1831. In 1830 he composed a new work for Naples, the opera Zaïra based on one of Voltaire's finest tragedies. The theme is the conflicting claims of religion and love, for Zaïra is torn between the allegiance she owes to the Christian faith in which she was born and the love she feels for Sultan Orosmane.

All the bel canto, lyrical phrases and cadenzas are present in this Italian virtuoso show piece in a style that could be compared as a mix between Rossini's ‘Una voce poco fa' and ‘Largo al Factotum'.

difficulty rating: 4 (1-6)
duration: 5:30
solo parts included: BC, TC, BC Bb

All Brass, Wind & Fanfare Band arrangements in the Euphonium Virtuoso series are shipped directly from the publisher.


We use cookies to facilitate the usage of our online shop. You are able to turn off your cookies through your browser options, but this will have a negative effect on the functionality of our website on your computer. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit or certain emails you open. They are widely used in order to make websites work. Read more Close message.